WARNING

You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Close [x]

New York State Dog License Law

Part of being a responsible pet owner is the compliance with any laws required by such pet ownership.  These laws are not intended to be an inconvenience to pet ownership, but to ensure the health and safety of the public, and the companion animals that people care for.

New York State requires that all owners of dogs 4 months or older register that dog within a statewide database under New York State Dog Licensing Laws.

Not only is this database used by animal control officers to identify your pet should they become lost, but it also ensures the health and safety of the public by keeping Rabies Vaccination information on file.  Failure to have your dog licensed can result in fines and penalties should your dog ever be picked up by an animal control officer.  

Click here to read New York State Agriculture and Markets Article 7 Of the Agriculture & Markets Law Relating to Licensing, Identification, and Control of Dogs and Animal Population Control Program

You can get your dog’s application for a NYS Dog Licenses through the Brookhaven Town Clerk’s Office.  Residents outside of the Town of Brookhaven should check their own particular Town Clerk’s Office and website for application information.

Click here to download the Dog License Application from Town of Brookhaven

New York State Dog Licensing Laws require dog owners to:

1.  Have their dog regularly vaccinated for Rabies in accordance with NYS Rabies Vaccination laws, and provide a Veterinarian signed certificate proving such vaccination.

Click Here To Read NYS Mandatory Rabies Law

2.  Display their dog’s Dog License Tag visibly on a collar.

3.  Regular renewal of such Dog License for the life of the dog, and keep contact information up-to-date.

4.  Inform the Town Clerk’s Office in writing of any change in ownership of the dog within 10 days from the date of change.   Such information may include a bill of sale, or certificate of surrender.  The new owners of the dog are therefore responsible for applying for an NYS Dog License upon receipt of the dog, and the old owner will be responsible for any violations of NYS Dog Licensing Laws until such time as the new owners have been issued an NYS Dog License in their name.

5.  Inform the Town Clerk’s Office in writing within 10 days of discovery of a lost or stolen pet. 

6.  Inform the Town Clerk’s Office of a dog’s death in writing either upon death, or during the next renewal cycle.

If you'd like to schedule your pet for their yearly health care and vaccination so that they can register for their New York State Dog License, call 631-696-2400.

Sign up using the form below or call (631) 696-2400 to make an appointment.

THIS ---->https://suffolkveterinarygroupcom.vetmatrixbase.com/pet-owners-information/nys-dog-license-law.html

Office Hours

DayOpenClosed
Monday10:00am7:00pm
Tuesday4:00pm7:00pm
Wednesday10:00am7:00pm
Thursday10:00am7:00pm
FridayClosedClosed
Saturday9:00am5:00pm
SundayClosedClosed
Day Open Closed
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
10:00am 4:00pm 10:00am 10:00am Closed 9:00am Closed
7:00pm 7:00pm 7:00pm 7:00pm Closed 5:00pm Closed

Testimonial

I want to thank Dr. Winkler and his staff. They are the most compassionate animal care center ever. And when we recently had to put our kitty down, no where else will you receive the compassion they show. God bless them for their kindness and caring hearts.

Barbara B.
Selden, NY

Newsletter Sign Up